Report this Article

Angola the republic

  • Comments 0

Angola: The Facts

Angola is a country in south west Africa
Borders the countries of Namibia, Zambia, and Congo. Angola also borders the Atlantic Ocean off the west coat and with a west coast along the Atlantic Ocean.
Angola has plenty of natural resources; the most common being oil and diamonds.
Capital city is Luanda, which is also the largest city
Official language is Portuguese
Total area – 1,246,700 km²
Population – 10,978,552 (ranked 71 in the world for size)
Angola is a former portuguese colony
Angola is divided into 18 provinces: 1 Bengo, Benguela, Bia, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire</li>
Angola has three main ethnic groups, each speaking a Bantu language: Ovimbundu 37%, Kimbundu 25%, and Bakongo 13%.
The great majority of the inhabitants are of Bantu stock with some admixture in the Congo district.
In the coast towns the majority of the white inhabitants are Portuguese.
The Mushi-Kongo and other divisions of the Ba-Kongo retain curious traces of the Christianity professed by them in the 16th and 17th centuries and possibly later.

Feel free to reprint this article as long as you keep the following caption and author biography in tact with all hyperlinks.
About the Author

Ryan Fyfe is the owner and operator of Pixibot. Which is a great web directory and information center for information on all types of topics.


admin Article's Source:

  • Posted On January 31, 2006
  • Published articles 283513

Post Comment


Select Language:

en es fr it
de pt sv da
no fi nl ru
ja pl tr el